Irony

Interesting to compare the two oaths. More importantly the fact that there is a SPECIFIC mention of ‘political activity’ in the Pakistani oath while on the other hand all that US Armed Forces are asked to state is that they will ‘support and defend’ the Constitution. Oh, and the Pakistani oath has been translated from Urdu into English so don’t think that just cause English is the American language they understand it better. It has nothing to do with comprehension. I guess for us oaths and promises are just things that we would like to get out of the way to carry on with what we want to do never to think of them again.

Oath taken by the Pakistan Armed Forces

“I, (NAME), with a sincere heart and God as my witness do solemnly swear that I will be faithful to the State of Pakistan and protect the constitution of Pakistan, which reflects the wishes of the people of Pakistan. Further, I will not indulge in any political activity and will perform my duties in the armed forces with full faith and honesty. I will go where and howsoever I am ordered to by land, air or sea and that I will obey all lawful orders given to me by my superiors without regard to any dangers and threats to my personal safety. May God be my protector and witness. Amen”

Oath taken by the U.S Armed Forces

“I, (NAME), do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; and that I will obey the orders of the President of the United States and the orders of the officers appointed over me, according to regulations and the Uniform Code of Military Justice. So help me God.”

“Guide Note: There has been some controversy about whether the phrase “So help me God” is mandatory. Some people have seen officers allow enlistees to omit these words, if they choose, according to their religious preference and beliefs. However, federal law does not appear to make any part of the oath optional. See 10 United States Code, Section 502. ”

3 thoughts on “Irony

  1. Does anybody know the history behind this oath? I would be interested in knowing if the mention of political activity has been there in all our constitutions or just our most recent one.

  2. well guys, i have taken this oath bout 13 years back and would definitely like to clear out the issue. One that oath is taken in National Language i.e. Urdu with almost the same content but there is no such mention of political activity. No Army Officer is permitted under MPML (Manual Of Pakistan Military Law) to participate in politics. Actually as a custom of service , this subject is one of the taboos to be discussed in Army Messes. Roles played by Military in natonal political canvass have certain intangible governing factors and this oath does accomodate for that. And lastly, please keep in mind that we, the Pakistani Soldiers are here to serve the nation with a motivation based on socio-religious ethics, otherwise the pays and perks are not compatible to the output we deliver or demand from undercommands. I would request u all not to question the institution with respect to its actions wthout sufficient information even bout the political chemistry of the country while being totally ignorant of Army itself. thanx mates

Leave a Reply

